Crew Changes Update: BIMCO

A couple of changes and updates have been implemented in the following countries with regard to crew changes:

1. Hong Kong, SAR, China – Effective 29 July, crew change is allowed and exempted from compulsory quarantine but subject to fulfilling certain conditions.

2. Philippines – Just when there was easing of restrictions, the Philippine government had to revert back to stricter community quarantine due to a spike of COVID-19 cases. As per press release dated 3 August 2020,  the government has reverted back to stricter lockdowns, imposing a Modified Enhanced Community Quarantine (MECQ) status in Metro Manila, Laguna, Cavite, Rizal, and Bulacan from 4 to 18 August.  However, Cebu City, Lapu-Lapu City, Mandaue City, Talisay City, Minglanilla and Consolacion in Cebu Province  and Zamboanga City will be under a general community quarantine (GCQ)  until 18 August 2020 and the rest of Philippines is under a less strict modified general community quarantine (MGCQ) status. The quarantine measures are based on the “Omnibus Guidelines on the Implemention of Community Quarantine in the Philippines” drawn up by their special Inter-Agency Task Force (IATF).

3. Singapore – The Maritime Port Authority of Singapore has dedicated a section online for “Crew Change“, giving a quick overview of their requirements.

4. Malaysia –  The Malaysian government has also toughened up their crew change procedures requiring the 14-day quarantine and doing at least two COVID-19 tests on the 1st and 13th day.

5. United Arab Emirates – Crew change procedures introduced for all UAE Ports and waters as per official circular issued by their Federal Transport Agency on 2nd August 2020 (FTA circular No.(12), 2020).

6. Brazil – Brazil has officially re-opened its borders effective immediately, July 29, 2020 to foreigners with certain restrictions in accordance with the Brazilian ordinance ( in Portuguese and unofficial English translation) published on 29 July 2020.

Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button